My driveway

This week has been Hell. I’m really rather disappointed in Blog-City, my old blog host. I was hoping to move my old posts over here, but I REALLY don’t want to go to the trouble of cutting/pasting 5 years’ worth of entries. And since there appears to not be anyone answering emails and the support site is no more, I think I’m just going to let the old site die. I have it through August this year, so if I change my mind, I’ve still got some time to move everything over here. But we’ll see.

The cold snap that’s been hanging on is driving all of us nuts. Last week, the car wouldn’t start. Turns out, somehow, the gasket slipped off our oil filter, all the oil drained out, and the battery was close to being frozen. Thank gods Jay works with a guy who not only does radio, but also works for one of the car repair shops here in town, so he came and helped us out.

Things were fine (albeit frigid) until Wednesday, when we got something like 5 more inches of snow on top of the foot we already had. Fun. Then on Thursday, when the blizzard conditions kicked in full-force, our furnace died. Thankfully it wasn’t anything more than a blown fuse, but the temp that night was supposed to be something like 20 below zero. On top of that, I seem to have picked up some norovirus or something, because within an hour of coming home from work, I was basically chained to the bathroom. It was bad enough that I wound up on the floor of the bathroom, and ended up taking an ambulance to the ER. I stayed home from work yesterday, and laid on the couch most of the day. I feel about 1000 times better this morning, maybe due to the fact that I (finally) got a shower, and I can eat solid food again. I’m still taking it easy, though. I don’t want to upset my stomach too much, and go through any of that again.

