This is sometimes what happens when I have an unexpected day off from work:

I get a wild hair and bake things. The bambino has bronchitis, and because he didn’t really sleep from about 1:30 this morning until sometime around 5, I opted to keep him home today. For some reason, since I’m planning on making fish & chips for tonight’s dinner, I thought that dinner rolls were necessary. When I was in high school, there was a Frisch’s Big Boy about a block away from where I lived, and often on Friday nights, before going to the movies or the mall or after going shopping in Clifton, my friend Amy & I would stop there. Usually it was for coffee, but if we happened to be eating dinner, I almost always got the fish & chips platter–Especially after I came back from my week-long trip to Ireland, Wales & England, and was a pseudo-Anglophile…For the record, I don’t recall having authentic fish & chips while I was there…The only authentically “British” thing I had (besides tea) was a bag of salt & vinegar crisps while we waited for the bus to take us to the airport on our last day. But that’s all beside the point. The Frisch’s platter came with fish, fries/chips, tartar sauce (which I never used, as I eschew almost all condiments), a lemon wedge, and a dinner roll with butter. And, if I was lucky, there was a bottle of malt vinegar on the table. So I was thinking that this evening, if we were having fish & chips, I should make some dinner rolls. So I did. And don’t they look tasty?

Thank you, my trusty Better Homes & Gardens cookbook…The basic dinner roll recipe has about 8 variations, one of which is the quick & easy Batter Rolls. And of course, like the differences with the Hot Fudge Brownie Pudding, the website’s recipe is a little different than what I used. I basically followed Step 1, added in a 1 1/4 C whole wheat flour, spooned the batter into muffin cups, then let them rise for 45 minutes in my bathroom (it’s not as drafty and is warmer than my kitchen). Simple enough that if I really wanted to, I could probably whip them up after work, and have them ready in time for dinner…Assuming, of course, that we didn’t run errands right after work, and I got myself in the kitchen right away.

It was somewhat warmer today…At least it felt that way when I took the garbage out. Unfortunately, though, it sounds like it’s going to be below zero yet again tonight, which makes me think I should go and top off Junior’s tank. It might be nice to get out of the house for a few, even if I’m just going to the gas station 2 blocks away. I do need new batteries for my camera, though, so I might need to go visit The Devil, or pop over to the drugstore. It would be nice if we had something other than a dollar store close to downtown Brookings. I get irked having to venture to one end of town or the other for little things like batteries, and I’m not paying the outrageous mark-up from the store inside the Shell station.

