On January 13th, we happened to swing through the grocery store to pick up a couple things. Right in front of the produce area was a guy selling subscriptions to the Argus Leader, Sioux Falls’ main paper. They had a deal on Wednesday & Sunday delivery for $10/month. I like newspapers, and I miss reading the Sunday paper. Plus, since we’re supposed to be on a budget and all, the coupons in the Sunday paper would be most helpful. So I signed up. It helped that in return for my subscription, I received $15 in Hy-Vee gift cards. The problem is that I have yet to see an Argus Leader, either on Wednesday or Sunday. I really doubt that anyone is stealing our papers…Our area of Brookings might be the northern/older/less-desirable section of town, but it’s quiet. And we’re right across the block from a church. No, I think the problem is with whoever the chuckleheaded delivery person happens to be for our neighborhood. I have called the customer service department three times now. This last time, I called just to cancel the subscription altogether, because even though they keep giving me credit for all the papers I’ve missed, it’s stupid for me to have to keep calling about it. However, the guy I talked to offered to give me another 2 weeks free if I would just give it one more chance. Supposedly he talked to his supervisor, who was supposed to contact the manager of the delivery area, but I don’t know if that happened or not. The woman with whom I spoke last week said the same thing, and it looked like nothing had been done. But, not surprisingly, I checked this morning, and I still have yet to see an Argus. I’ll give them the 2 weeks, then I will call to cancel and won’t get suckered into giving them any more chances.

Jay & I decided this afternoon to do something that will shock anyone who knows me even remotely well. We’re going to attempt a vegetable garden this summer. Yes, I know that I don’t eat vegetables, other than a select few. I know that I hate Nature and the not-so-great-Outdoors. I’m not fond of bugs, dirt, heat, or sunlight. But I’m going to try and grow food. I’m actually kind of excited about it. We went & bought seeds for tomatoes, carrots, radishes, zucchini, peppers, lettuce, cilantro, oregano, parsley, marjoram, and pumpkins. We’ll see how it all works out. I should probably get a bunch of books on gardening, seeing as I know virtually NOTHING about it! And we already figure that this first year will be more of a learning experience than anything else, so we’re not exactly having high expectations for any decent yield.

I need to budget my time on weekends when I don’t work Saturdays a lot better. I went grocery shopping yesterday, and that was pretty much it. Today, I’ve baked cookies, made breakfast, made dinner, did all the laundry, including the bambino’s bedding, remade the bambino’s bed after his sheets & blanket were clean, hand-washed I don’t know how many dishes, made homemade hot fudge sauce, popped out to the store, and at the moment, I have bread rising for the second time. I think in large part, I’ve made myself so busy in order to exhaust myself, because I haven’t gotten a decent night’s sleep since Wednesday night. But I’ve also kind of screwed myself because I won’t be getting into bed to try & fall asleep until probably 10:30, if not later. Oh well.

