When I was a kid, I always thought the “Pease” in “Pease Porridge Hot” was little-kid-speak for “Please.” Kind of like the bambino’s “Pwease.” It wasn’t until I was older that I learned it really refers to mashed peas. Blech.

I have a weigh-in today, and I’m not exactly looking forward to it, not just because I think I’m slowly creeping upwards on the scale instead of down…It’s a cold, crappy, dreary, rainy day here on the prairie, and since I ended up sleeping on the couch (thank you, recurring insomnia), I’m exhausted and slightly grumpy (although that I blame on my SAD, as I was much more chipper last week when it was sunny). I was just going to do yogurt & granola again for breakfast, but decided the oatmeal would be a little more comforting, and the strawberries would give me some much-needed vitamin C. Plus, I bought steel-cut oats over the weekend, and I’ve been geekily excited about eating them. I have regular rolled oats, but steel-cut oats turn out much creamier. I had to chuckle about the different packaging, though. I picked up Bob’s Red Mill Scottish Oatmeal, mainly because it was on sale. Other than price and the obvious differences in organic vs. conventional, I fail to see any real difference between the Scottish oatmeal, and regular steel-cut oats. The Scottish oatmeal does have fun plaid packaging, and I am a sucker for anything plaid.

